2001-09-03 | 3:40 p.m.
I have nothing to say. There's nothing going on, there's nothing special I particularly want right now, I don't feel like doing anything, and nothing special is going on in my mind at the moment, so I really have nothing to say.

You know me, though. I'm gonna talk anyway.

Maybe I'll talk about music. I had an insight the other day about why most of the music I listen to these days is alternative.

You know, pop music used to be cool? Back in the days of Michael Jackson, Prince, and when Madonna wasn't being irritating, there was some pretty kick ass pop music out there.

And now we have Britney Spears (not that she's anywhere near the only offender).

Hell, even rap music used to be pretty damn cool. RunDMC, Snoop Dogg, Digital Underground, pretty cool stuff.

I'd tell you who we have now, but I can't think of anyone I've bothered paying attention, to.

It all comes down to one thing. Music sucks these days, because all it is is formula. There's nothing wrong with the music, specifically, there's nothing wrong with the lyrics, even, not really. But it's lost any meaning or originality it might have had. Which is to say, it never had any, cause it was produced in a factory. Listen to any Backstreet Boys song ever made. They're all exactly the same. It's like an assembly line.

And rap is exaclty the same. If you listened to most contemporary rap, you'll notice it.

Not that there aren't pop artists (Barenaked Ladies) and rap artists (Eminem) who still deserve to be called artists. Who still actually create something, and don't just follow the instructions some assembly required that came with the kit.

Which is why most of what I listen to is alternative, video game music and industrial. You're not guaranteed originality, of course, the record companies are working on their industrial and alternative formulas as we speak, and soon we'll be treated to nice, speedily assembled alt rock.

Which I won't listen to, cause I happen to like art.

Anyway, that's the problem there.

So, which of you is gonna fix it?

recent...
2001-09-03 - Mechanized art.
2001-08-31 - Happy Birthday Caz & Toribat!
2001-08-30 - Ozone hole.
2001-08-29 - Married in dream.
2001-08-29 - My sixth sense.


Step Back ---/// Take a Step ///--- End of the Path
dland
mail
before
now
rings
Sign the Book of Enlightenment -- Share Your Path (0)

ICQ#48848762 AIM: Dagromorph
YIM: Chris5675 MSNM: [email protected]