2001-08-29 | 12:16 p.m.
I think I finally figured out why I so rarely see people at all. I think my attention is somewhat more limited than I had previously supposed.

See, it works like this. I apparently can only draw in sensory input form two senses at a time. Usually touch is my primary, and when I'm talking to someone, I have to use hearing as my secondary (or sometimes hearing as primary and touch as secondary), so that means seeing them, smelling them or tasting them (not that I go around tasting people) just don't really work for me. I mean, the input is coming in, but I don't have enough processing power to make use of the available information.

This is sort of an impairment, but like all disadvantages, it has an accompanying advantage. I have the ability to focus so completely on a single sense, that all others cease to bother me. This is really good for, say, tuning out music that sucks total ass. Or not looking at something truly disturbing. Or not feeling that thing crawling up your back at all.

What I've also noticed though (today in fact) is that I also have the ability to concentrate so completely on my thoughts that I lose track of all my senses. I can become truly oblivious to all external stimuli. They're still there, and the information still comes in, I just don't notice it.

So I do have a sixth sense, but it's thought. I don't know if that's an extremely powerful sixth sense, or a particularly useless one. I'll have to study it more.

I just love finding out new stuff about me. And having time at work to share it with all of you.

recent...
2001-08-29 - My sixth sense.
2001-08-28 - I said NYAH!
2001-08-26 - A triumph of bitching.
2001-08-26 - You tubby bitch.
2001-08-24 - A lifetime away.


Step Back ---/// Take a Step ///--- End of the Path
dland
mail
before
now
rings
Sign the Book of Enlightenment -- Share Your Path (0)

ICQ#48848762 AIM: Dagromorph
YIM: Chris5675 MSNM: [email protected]