2001-11-15 | 11:45 p.m.
Be forewarned. There will be employment related bitching here.

It all starts with Tier II. Now, you didn't hear this from me, but Tier II is where we're supposed to send people when they have problems either we can't deal with, or problems we don't have time to deal with (like helping some poor schmuck install the drivers for a modem they have connected USB, I am so glad I haven't had to do that bullshit). There are three possible locations you can end up when transferred to Tier II, Oregan, California or Texas. Yeah, I know, bizarre, but just accept it.

Well, my company (let's avoid mentioning it for the sake of not losing my job when least expected because of Webcrawlers) is going through a conversion, and there are certain things we are no longer able to do at our level (but everything's a lot easier on the customers, assuming you're currently a customer, not a new customer, cause then you're fucked, and don't try to transfer to a new address, cause then we'll gang bang you), so instead of going trhough normal channels, I took the quick way (cause, you know, my job is to make the customers happy) and called Tier II and talked to them myself.

There was one of them who was at least willing to listen to me and learn. Lucky her, cause she managed to get what I wanted done on the first try. Of the other two morons I spoke to, neither of them had a clue what they were doing, and one of them tried to tell me he did it, when it was obvious that he couldn't possibly have done it, cause I have the same fucking programs as him, and if he'd changed anything, I would have fucking seen it when I updated. Apparently he was just unwilling to admit his ignorance to a Tier I operative.

Heh, I said operative. I'm all secret service now and shit.

Actually, the woman, the one who was willing to learn (and did I mention all these people make more money than me, but with excite going bankrupt, they're all out of a job anyway, where as my job at the cable company here is secure cause it's the 3rd largest cable company in the country, and therefore, world) seemed kind of amused. Apparently she'd never talked to a Tier I person before, and if her microphone had been better I'd swear I heard her giggling.

And let us now bitch about customers. I mean, stupid coworkers is a bitch (I now know how Danny feels, he works in Dispatch, and has to deal with all the dumbass techs who apparently can't install a fucking modem either), but I spend more time dealing with customers, so there's more bitching that can be done about them.

Such as the 20 minute phone call helping a person get online who, incidentally, was already online, but the @Home software (another great excite product) is a piece of shit and told him he was not (but he pinged perfectly fine, so I set him up using Internet Explorer). The problem was that there was no @Home 'icon' on his desktop as he was used to. So, he asked me why there wasn't an 'e-con' and I told him that there wouldn't be an icon, and I finally got him set up using IE from the start menu, and even at the end of the call, he kept asking when he would get him an 'e-con' to go on his screen. So you know what, I lied to him. I told him he'd get an 'e-con' cause it would magically appear on his desktop when it was needed. Hell, I don't know, it may even be true. Who knows what 'e-con's' are capable of. Certainly not I.

And there were other customers to bitch about. Believe me, there were plenty, but I think I'll let you go for now. There'll be more vitriol later, I'm sure.

recent...
2001-11-15 - Oooooh, nice word.
2001-11-15 - Not quite 40.
2001-11-13 - Throbbing.
2001-11-12 - When your self is a vacuum.
2001-11-11 - Looking on the bright side.


Step Back ---/// Take a Step ///--- End of the Path
dland
mail
before
now
rings
Sign the Book of Enlightenment -- Share Your Path (0)

ICQ#48848762 AIM: Dagromorph
YIM: Chris5675 MSNM: [email protected]