2001-05-07 | 3:18 a.m.
I should be gong to sleep. I didn't sleep Friday night, cause I couldn't get to sleep. But I'm tired now, and I should sleep. I know I'm tired cause I can't feel anything right now. I don't mean physically. I mean it's night time and I can't feel any breathing other than my own, and that tell's me I'm tired. If you don't understand, perhaps you should spend a little time outside communing with nature. Some of us don't have to commune with nature. Some of us are on nature's speed dial (and damn can that woman talk your ear off).

I'm not going to sleep, however, becaue I want o be up early enough to tape Birdy the Mighty. Although I should sleep if I'm really going to do that whole 'getting a job' thing. I'd rather do it tomorrow than Tuesday, cause there's just so much stuff on tv I watch Tuesday. I'd be buttfucked if I tried Tuesday. Well, no, I wouldn't, but my well planned tv watching and taping and then tape watching schedule sure would be buttfucked.

You now, at the age of 102 I had a larger vocabulary than most people who are two to three times my current age, and yet I repeatedly find myself using the same words over and over again. Oh, here and there I'll throw in a creative adjective, or a rarely used adverb. Sometimes I'll even write a diary entry about a noun that almost no one's ever heard of. But seriously, I've forgotten more about the English language than I ever knew about the spanish language (of course, to be fair, I've forgotten more about the spanish language than I ever knew about the spanish language), and yet I keep using the same words and phrases over and over again.

This bothers me. A lot. I know it seems obvious why it does, but it probably isn't. I have to explain, so you can understand exactly why this bothers me.

I comment quite often in this diary that people are stupid. And when I say people, I'm referring to all people, from human beings on down to your typical bacterium. And technically speaking, I'm absoluely and perfectly correct. You average person is a flaming moron (flaming because they're too stupid to avoid lighting themselves on fire in various and sundry ways). However, in a very real way, that's totally and absolutely incorrect. Humans, at least, are generally very intelligent.

Very, very intelligent, really. To be as stupid as they are, most humans had to choose to be that way. That's why it pisses me off the way children are treated in this world. Your average three year old is about 1101001 times as smart as you average 1022 year old. The mistake people make, of course, is the one where you think knowledge has anything whatsoever to do with intelligence, when it obviously doesn't. And people make this mistake because they're stupid.

The fact of the matter is we all start out intelligent. I mean, we have to. Think of it this way. We start out knowing nothing. That doesn't seem like much, until you try to define something. Pick a word, any word, and look it up in the dictionary. Do you notice that no matter what word you pick, it's always defined in terms of something else? Association, our thought processes are almost completly associative. Everything we know, we know it as it is in relation to something else. We know the color purple because it's a dark color, kind of similar to blue, black and red. You know, the color of a plum. Now, try to imagine understanding what purple is when you don't know what any of the bold words mean.

A newborn child has no frame of reference whatsoever. Even the concept of I we have to build for ourselves, from scrath. Of course, once we've got that down, then we can finally begin to understand the rest of the world, at least as things that are not I, anyway. And it builds from there. But do you realize the kind of intelligence it takes to come to think your way through all of this when you have no frame of reference to work with?

We get more knowledgeable as we get older, but we don't seem to get any more intelligent. In fact, adults seem to be so bloody stupid. If you pay attention though, you'll realize that they're intentionally conditioning themselves to be stupid. It's just so damn sad. Humanity is a seething mass of stupidity, not because it can't do any better, but because that's what it wants to be.

Now do you understand why it bothers me that I don't use my extensive vocabulary? There's always the chance that I'm subconsciously shutting down my brain because I no longer feel it's necessary to go around being intelligent. I mean, hell, I can cut my intelligence in half and still be way up on the general populace. And it sure would make that music Britney Spears sings more entertaining. Who knows, I might even start watching daytime soaps, and enjoy them. Yessirree bob, there are a lot of advantages to rampant stupidity.

Or maybe I just wanted to explain to you all that if you're stupid, it's your own damn fault and you could fix it anytime you wanted to, if you really wanted to, and I'm not at all worried about me. I'll let you decide.

Never underestimate the power of human stupidity.

recent...
2001-05-07 - Human Stupidity.
2001-05-07 - I almost forgot.
2001-05-07 - My weekend.
2001-05-05 - Focusing on commitment.
2001-05-04 - Movie dreams.


Step Back ---/// Take a Step ///--- End of the Path
dland
mail
before
now
rings
Sign the Book of Enlightenment -- Share Your Path (0)

ICQ#48848762 AIM: Dagromorph
YIM: Chris5675 MSNM: [email protected]