2001-05-21 | 11:23 p.m.
In less than a week (much less, specifically, on Sunday) I will be having a birthday. This entire entry deals with that birthday in a specific way. Specifically (damn, I've used that word twice in three sentences), with my birthday present.

I've decided what I want for my birthday. On Sunday I want everyone to change their life. If you're going somewhere, and you usually take a left turn, take a right turn instead. If you're about to beat the crap out of somebody, change your mind and buy them a drink. Just at some point in the day, at least once, do something completely different from what you'd planned to do. It doesn't have to be the exact opposite, although that works, too.

If you're in a restaurant and you're about to order chicken, get a steak instead. If you're about to go to McDonald's, change your mind and order a pizza. Don't plan ahead, don't decide, 'I usually do this, but I'm gonna do something else.' I want this to be completely spontaneous. It doesn't have to be anything major. It can be somethng as simple as watching a different tv show, or getting a flavor of potato chips you don't usually eat.

You see, the future already exists. It's not that our actions are locked, but people develop habits, they develop personalities, and even when we're spontaneous, it doesnt really change anything, because it's expected. If you're always being spontaneous, the universe expects it, and it builds the future ahead of us based on what we're almost definitely going to do. The future already exists, but we can change it. Not by someone from the future coming here to the present, but by the people of the present totally disregarding the rules they've built for themselves.

I mean, it's ridiculous, whenever we go somewhere, we always take the same path. And we go to the same places over and over again.

If you get in your car to go to the mall, go to a strip club instead. But again, don't plan this sort of thing ahead. If you do, the universe will pick up on it and be ready for you with a new future. Make it spur of the moment. Just keep in the back of your mind that at some point you're gonna do something differently from the way you're planning it. I figure if enough people do this, we can cause massive temporal abnormalities or something.

Basically, I just feel the universe has fucked us all so much it's time we give a little back. For my birthday present, I want everyone to fuck over the future, to change the world.

So remember, on May 27, you're going to change your life, by, just for a moment, changing the way you behave and the way you think.

If you don't think you can manage that, I'll post a list of books you can buy me instead in a few days.

recent...
2001-05-21 - What I want for my birthday.
2001-05-21 - The dilly-o.
2001-05-20 - Super Smash Bros. Melee
2001-05-18 - Video gaming.
2001-05-16 - Blah day.


Step Back ---/// Take a Step ///--- End of the Path
dland
mail
before
now
rings
Sign the Book of Enlightenment -- Share Your Path (0)

ICQ#48848762 AIM: Dagromorph
YIM: Chris5675 MSNM: [email protected]