2004-03-28 | 6:09 p.m.
I recently, at church today, had a thought. Blowjobs notwithstanding, no truly joyous expression of faith ends on your knees.
Although, now that I think about it, a religion where oral sex was considered a method of prayer and thanksgiving would not be a bad idea. I might even be able to get on board with a deity that encouraged muff diving as a sacrament.

Of course such a religion would probably have a tendency to encourage bisexuality, but then, I'm sort of getting to that. Hold on a sec.


In case you're wondering, yes, this does mean I'm not going to complete 'The Dance'. I already know how it ends, so I don't really need to type it all out here. If you want to see the rest of it, I don't know, pester me until I'm done or get it published or something.
So, what I was thinking is...well, no, I was thinking a lot of things. A LOT of things. First off, I think I finally understand the purpose of religion. Religion is basically a primitive form of psychology. It is a society's method for getting people to reveal their innermost demons, so they can be fought off for the good of that person.

This was important, because societys were much more closely knit at that stage in our sociological evolution (yes, I had thoughts about evolution as well, we'll get to that), and the failure of a single unit (ie, a person) could adversely affect the entire group.

So religion was invented to either fix an individual, put them into a position where whatever social or mental aberration affected them actually helped the society (you have visions and are horribly paranoid, why, we'll make you the preacher to show people what can happen to you if you get god's touch...plus it's keep you from doing anything that might kill people), or, in the most extreme cases, to banish or kill them in case they proved uncurable by such primitive methods.

This doesn't include sacrifices. Sacrifices came about because the people in charge didn't want the people to revolt and kill them, so since they already had gods and such around, they conveniently blamed said gods, and essentially killed someone young and expendable, 'to appease the gods'.

Human sacrifice was common where there was a large population, so killing animals was bad business, I mean, they couldn't afford to spare the food. And so you killed a human, so even if the sacrifice didn't work, that was one less mouth to feed.

Why sacrifice virgins? Simple, really. If you were a virgin, you were not contributing to the continuance of the society. By definition a virgin isn't having much sex, which makes them unlikely to be pregnant, and therefore unlikely to produce children. And if you're female and not producing children, why, you're putting the entire species in danger, and defying god. It did not pay to be a virgin in pre-civilized society.

Actually, it didn't pay to be a lot of things. I guess that's why they call it civilization. (Cause, you know, we pretend to be civil to each other.)


The next thing I was thinking was how different our society would be if the majority of the people who had originally come to this land had had a different religious bent. I'm thinking Shintoist.

For one, I'm about certain we wouldn't be one of the most powerful nations in the world. If there's one thing to be said for Christians, they are a very focused, goal oriented people, in a violent, crusading sort of way. The Love of Christ and your Fellow Man notwithstanding, of course.

But other than that, assuming things had turned out much the same, I do sort of wonder what I culture would be like.


Which is what got me thinking about evolution. It started with thoughts of social evolution. After all, that's what religion is a result of.

But, of course, it eventually went back to genetic evolution, because, really, the two are part of the same thing. There's really no difference. How we evolve as a species determines how we evolve as a culture.

I had been thinking, a few days ago, about how the less genetic information a species has, the more evolution (ie genetic mutation) affects them. Viruses, bacteria and such are much more susceptible to evolution than we humans, which is why all these chemicals we make to kill colds and things only work for a few generations or so.

So anyway, I was thinking about how much of evolution is based on a highly scientific form of luck. I mean, if you're being perfectly honest, humanity has only been the epitome of evolution for maybe a few hundred thousand years.

What really happened is, there existed at one point, or maybe more than one point, a species that was superior to what we were then, but then an even more superior species, that ate species A came about, but then species C decided to eat species B, and while they weren't paying attention, we evolved into pack animals that ganged up on species C and killed them all.

Evoltuion is fun!


Ah, I love you Homer Simpson.

"I believe that children are our future...unless we stop them now."


The other thing I was thinking about, was beauty. For instance, I don't understand women. I mean, I know there are attractive guys out there, but, for the most part, I don't understand why women are attracted to men.

I mean, yes, there is the whole penis thing, and maybe that's enough. Not that I'm knocking sex in any way, I just don't see it as being enough.

Anyway, that was not the point I wanted to make (plus, I've made it already). The point had to do with differences in beauty, and since I find women more attractive than men, I'll be focusing on women (so there you have an explanation for the previous unnecessary diatribe).

Some women are like works of art. Flawless, perfect, finely crafted, but you get them moving, and they cease to be pretty at all. On the other hand, there are some women who are merely pretty, but the way they move makes them fascinating, truly gorgeous.

So I was just thinking, you can't really tell how pretty someone is until you've seen them in multiple states of activity and rest.

Hmmmm...I wonder if guys are maybe the same way. Maybe there's more to a woman's attraction to men beyond pure physical attractiveness.

And before anyone makes any snide remarks, being attracted to a person for nono physical reasons was not in any way a part of this discussion, and is perfectly understood by all, but honestly has no bearing on someone you've never spoken to or otherwise interacted with except by sight.


I may have been thinking more stuff, but I've already been at this too long, and forgotten to much. Oh, except that reality shows are getting increasingly more stupid. And who really cares?

recent...
2004-03-28 - Religious thoughts.
2004-03-25 - The Dance.
2004-03-25 - To sink so low.
2004-03-24 - Going nowhere.
2004-03-20 - Inarticulate complaining.


Step Back ---/// Take a Step ///--- End of the Path
dland
mail
before
now
rings
Sign the Book of Enlightenment -- Share Your Path (0)

ICQ#48848762 AIM: Dagromorph
YIM: Chris5675 MSNM: [email protected]